Parenting in the Later Years

*I originally posted this in my old blog.  However, after moving to a new site I felt that it was worth reposting.


Greetings to all in Cyber-land,

I am 46-years-old and I have a 20-year-old daughter and an 8-yer-old son.  When I became pregnant at 37, I wondered if I would have the patience to be a good Mother.  I worried that I was too old to handle all the sleepless nights and to keep up with a toddler as the baby grew older.  However, after my son was born, I discovered that parenting during older years is easier.  For example, I have noticed that the young mothers carry two or three sets of clothing to all the family events.  Every time one of their toddlers gets dirty, off to the bedroom they go to change the baby.  I do not sweet the small things.  If my son gets a little dirty, then I figure he must be having fun.  I am more apt to say, “Ah, just wipe that off on your shirt…” than I am to worry about changing his clothes continuously.  Another example is shopping.  The younger parents in our family are mortified when their children act-up or cry in the stores.  At my age, it doesn’t faze me.  I just keep shopping and chattering away to my son regardless of his shopping mood.

In addition to having more patience at this age, I have found that I notice more about Adam’s development and I cherish each day with him more than I did as a younger mother.  It is not that I did not love my daughter equally; of course, I did.  I believe it lies in the fact that Hey…I’m darned old.  I am sure this is my last baby.  Something about knowing that makes me appreciate each smile, notice every new word or phrase, and treasure every accomplishment.  Finally, having my little boy to play with and teach about life keeps me young.  I feel like I am in my 20’s again.  I go to the gym almost every day.  I take better care of myself so that I can be healthy and productive for as long as possible.  To any older couple who is considering having a child but concerned about being too old, I say go for it.  Having our son at such a late age was one of the best decisions my spouse and I ever made.

Now that my son is 8, I really miss those baby and toddler years.  I am lucky that my daughter is almost old enough to have children of her own.  Perhaps grandchildren will be just what I need to keep my youth alive.

Happy Parenting!

About glendagosey

I'm a 46-year-old, mother of two.
This entry was posted in Family/Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parenting in the Later Years

  1. Happy you’re enjoying your son, I know I enjoy mine.There is not a day that goes by without me either laughing or crying over something Nikolas did. He keeps me on my toes with his quick wit and crafty ways. If there was ever an 8 year old negotiater, it is my son. He can find a loophole in any argument, so I have to use legally correct words with him just to keep dessert to one night a week. Look forward to reading more about your family. S💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

