Nutrisystem Review

Nutrisystem 5-day Pack - Available at Walmart

Nutrisystem 5-day Pack – Available at Walmart

I recently noticed this Nutrisytem five day weight loss kit at Walmart in Missoula, Montana.  The kit cost 44.95 and you can see it online here: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Nutrisystem-5-Day-Weight-Loss-Kit-4.6-lbs/42084163 I have always been interested in the Nutrisystem Program so I decided to give this a try.  I was excited to get the box home and open it up.

An inside view of the box

An inside view of the box

In addition to the meals, the box contained information about Nutrisystems online meal/exercise tracker and a handy book to mark off each day’s meals and snacks. The box also contained five each breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack.

Breakfasts

Breakfasts

Lunch

Lunches

20150425_182255

Dinners

Snacks

Snacks

If you are thinking to yourself, “hmmm…those look really small,” then you are right.  The meals do seem small.  However, in addition to these, you are supposed to add a mid-morning and afternoon snack that you pick from the fresh foods list.  This allows you to include fresh fruits, vegetables, or nuts into your daily diet.  An example of a mid-morning snack would be a banana and a tablespoon of peanut butter.  One of my favorite snack choices was a quarter cup of dried cranberries and a string cheese.

The little book is extremely handy.  Because you are trying to eat six times in a day, it is tough to keep up with the times and what you should be eating.  The book has handy checkboxes for each mealtime.  I was surprised how full I felt during the day.  However, let’s get on to what you are really wanting to know; “How did the food taste?”

I am not a fan of chocolate.  However, the chocolate cookies and muffin would have been a treat for anyone who does enjoy a little chocolate.  My favorite was the cinnamon streusel muffin, which was actually delicious.  The White Bean Chicken Chili was very spicy (I actually ended up passing that on to my hubby because it was too hot for me).  The noodle soup was great and so was the granola cereal.  There were only a couple of the meals that I thought fell short of the mark.  The mashed potato lunch and the Turkey, Sausage, and Bacon Rigatoni were not to my liking.  The potatoes were dry and had a very artificial taste and the Rigatoni noodles were quite mushy.   However, several of the monthly Nutrisystem deals allow you to pick your own foods.  I would be able to avoid these in a monthly diet and pick the foods that I loved instead.

My favorite Breakfast

My favorite Breakfast

20150425_182322

PIzza dinner

After my five days was over, I pulled out the scale to see the results.  I was not expecting much of a difference because I did not do any exercises or change anything else during the five days.  However, I was amazed to see that I actually lost 3 pounds by just following the diet for 5 days.  Had I added some daily exercise to the program I believe I could have easily doubled the weight loss!

You can visit the Nutrisystem website to see the current specials here: www.nutrisystem.com/fast5 This is the fast five special, which gives you free shakes and gaurentees a loss of five pounds in the first week.  If you are interested in the program it pays to stalk the website as the specials change often.  If you are diligent, you may be able to find the (choose your own meals) monthly rate for as little as 249.00, which is about the lowest I have seen it so far.  The basic plan runs a little less.  I also want to mention that the website has a handy live chat feature if you have any questions.

If you have tried Nutrisystem or are thinking about trying Nutrisystem, I would love to hear from you in the comments.  Let me know if you have any other questions about the Nutrisystem program.  If I have the opportunity to try the monthly program, I will post a weekly blog entry concerning my progress.

About glendagosey

I'm a 46-year-old, mother of two.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nutrisystem Review

  1. Interesting and informative review. I’ve never used any of these ‘systems’ before but I like the idea of having everything set up and ready to go straight away. Great result from Week 1 too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

